from strange places

 

Image

This morning didn’t start with a sweaty run or a burning weight session. This morning was a little rushed and my head a little crazy. I managed to park, albeit illegally, fairly close to my cafe and run through the rain to the comfort and the warmth of inside, smiling at a few other regulars before joining the queue. 

Nothing had yet inspired me and I wasn’t very present, drifting off into my imagination as I stood waiting. On cooler days, I seek warmth from the coffee machine and wait in the little nook close by. 

All of a sudden, the barista slammed out three strong, confident and loud bangs. A rhythmic flick of the wrist, without thought, I’m sure, as he cleaned the used, ground beans from the filter handle. Thud. Thud. Thud. I felt them through the floor. They went right through me and shook me from my fog.

Those three beats inspired me. They injected something into my day. It’s difficult to describe, really. There was such a confidence, power and control to them and I chose to take that away with me. Perfect, piping hot coffee in hand, I left in a very different way to how I entered. 

Peace and deep, strong and commanding beats. 

E. 😉 x

Leave a Reply

