Noveltybroochfriday // October

Please welcome to the blog, Babette from the Netherlands! She is our featured seller this month and has donated a darn cute brooch to boot!

She is seriously keen on brooches and we LOVE that! You can find her on Etsy, here! She also posts adorable photos on Instagram using @broesj.

Image

1.  How did you come up with the name of your shop ‘Broesj’?

I’m Dutch. In the Netherlands we call a brooch ‘broche’, which is pronounced ‘brosj’. While I was fantasizing about starting my own Etsy-shop I came up with the name ‘broesj’.

It has something from ‘broche’ in it and sounds a bit like ‘babushka’ (the mistaken name for the Russian dolls (they are called Matryoshka pop. A babushka is a headscarf). It also connects a bit to my name, which is Babette. The best thing about the name is that people will call brooches a broesj. So they ask me ‘do you have any broesjes?’. I love that!

2.  When did your interest in brooches begin?

My interest in brooches began at an early age. I accompanied my mom to flea markets. While she was looking for little treasuries I found out that it was a great place to search for unique fashion items ánd accessories. Searching for earrings I also came across brooches. Quickly my collection started to grow.

Image

3.  When did you turn your interest into your shop Broesj on Etsy?

In the Netherlands on queens day it’s a tradition to visit flea markets. They are being held in every city and start very early. Every year me and my mom will go on the hunt for vintage treasures.

On one of these days we came across a mega large bucket filled with brooches. Since I’m very undecisive I was hovering around the bucket a while. The salesman asked if I would like to buy the whole lot. And I did.

When it was getting a bit slower in my job as an independent graphic designer I thought about my brooches again. I started designing a card. And then I thought: why not try to sell some of those on Etsy? Since I had some doubles I could try and say goodbye to some of them. That was in November 2011 and the start of my Etsy shop.

4.  Do you have a favorite maker of jewellery/brooches?

One of my favorite brooch-makers is Lea Stein. She designs some of the craziest modern looking brooches with a magnificent material. The brooches are also quite large and recognizable.

5.  What do you think it is about brooches that people love?

With brooches people can carry out a message without saying something. Since there are so many brooches in all kinds of forms and shapes, every day they can choose what they want to say or find a brooches that accompanies their mood. Look at Madeleine Allbright for example. Through her brooches she carried out a very strong message in politics.

Thank you so much, Babette. By simply posting a photo of yourself on Instagram wearing a brooch on any Friday in October and linking it to the hash tag #noveltybroochfriday, you go into the running to win this darling little brooch from Babette’s Etsy store, Broesj!

Image

Claire and I love showcasing independent, creative and unique designers, sellers and collectors. If you have a brooch you’d like to donate and become a part of the #noveltybroochfriday family, please email me at eaenglish(at)gmail(dot)com.

Now, go forth and brooch!

Peace and all things crafty.

E. x

Leave a Reply

