My way

 

                       Image

I have been taking steps to really live the way I want to recently. It’s so easy to get caught up in the ‘norm’ and how others think you should be living, looking, etc. 

It wasn’t until recently that I felt like I had the confidence to say ‘no’ to some things and totally embrace others. I think this came from fear of other’s reactions and having that somehow change the way I felt about something. For example, not too long ago I would shy away from having the ‘why I’m vegan’ conversation or feeling like I had to defend MY choice to not have a TV. I don’t have to explain myself to anyone. Everything I do has OB in mind and Seb totally gets me and they are the two most important people in my life. 

My challenge to myself is to live as closely to my ideal as possible, at all times. I am going to speak up when something is important to me. What I will defend are the voices of those who can’t do it themselves; animals in factory farms, asylum seekers being treated as criminals, orangutans being sacrificed for the money hungry palm oil farmers, natural environments being destroyed at the hands of powerful companies with dollars in their eyes, independent green grocers going under because large supermarket chains have a strangle hold on the Australian market. I know I can’t single handedly stop these injustices or reverse damage done but what I can do is important and worthwhile. I can say no to products that exploit animals and precious environments, I can choose to buy local, I can choose to support programs that give asylum seekers a voice and stand up and say ‘no’ when the government proposes inhumane practices that no one would ever allow to happen to a family member of their own. I can sponsor animal sanctuaries and help promote good and fair by having meaningful discussions with friends and family and by teaching Oli that everyone is equal and that precious things such as the environment and animals deserve our upmost respect and care.

My little family is going to try harder, be better, do more. I am reevaluating the way we do a lot of things at the moment and I’m hoping that by opening my mind to the possibilities, I can make some significant changes that will positively affect the impact we have on the environment, our community and the way we feel within ourselves.

I am currently going through all of our cupboards and really asking ‘do we need this?’ It is hard because I find myself rediscovering so many things and swoon over how pretty/ adorable/ lovely/ ornate the thing is but truth be told, if I managed to forget about it entirely and it holds no real family or sentimental value, why keep it? I think this process will not only yield a much tidier and cleaner house but I’m hoping that it will change the way I look at objects and consumption. I’m not the kind of gal that has 15 different types of sandals for summer and twelve handbags with matching sunglasses. I’m not like that but I know that I can do better.

I’m also committing to Buy Nothing New Month which is October in Australia. I love the idea behind it, that is, to not buy anything new other than food, hygiene products and fuel. I love this initiative. I don’t very often buy new clothes or things just because but I am a sucker for books and magazines, so that will be where I notice it, I think. What I will be doing more of is visiting the library more often. My local library has a great selection of magazines and no shortage of books waiting to be devoured. I’m up for the challenge. Join me, won’t you? 

I can make a difference. Everyone can. It’s about realising that living to your potential may not be the way everyone else does it but that’s OK and, if you’re like me, it’s even preferable. 😉

Peace and change.

E. x

 

Leave a Reply

