the land I love

Image

Seb and I have been talking more seriously about the type of property we want to buy as our first home. We have been talking about it for a number of months now but the more discussion we have, the more photos we excitedly send one another, it’s becoming more and more clear to us that what is really important for us is the land first, then the house. Originally it was Seb who was really keen on all things ‘land-like’ and my focus was always on the house. This has shifted a little for me recently as I have come to realise just how important a large area for my family really is.

I have had the pleasure of visiting some truly spectacular properties of late and it hardly even registers to me what the house is like as my focus and attention is on the block that it sits on. I want to walk around, see what their veggie patches are like, ask what kind of trees do they have and so on and so forth.

I was reflecting on this whilst on the long drive from Seb’s place to mine this afternoon and it struck my just how important time and little dose of ‘woosah’ can be for big decisions. Lately I have been appreciating the value in considered decision making and I really think that now I respect the fact that good things take time and effort. This was something I struggled to get my head around when I was a bit younger.

It is an exciting time for Seb and I and our little family right now as we search through real estate catalogues and online search engines waiting for the prefect place to pop up.  There have been a couple of stand out properties of late that have really had us swooning. We are such geeks sometimes and we sit with our phones on loud speaker so we can look at the same property profile and discuss pros and cons over the phone.

We have very similar taste when it comes to the house side of things, which makes it easier. Some priorities for the house include fire place, large-ish kitchen, lots of natural light and character. Now, the last quality is subjective for sure and I have been known for striking a home off the list for being too modern and lacking in, what I consider to be character. Give me an original sixties kitchen with wood floors over any fancy new cupboards and tiles any day. Oh and the old bathrooms that are often mentioned with expressions such as ‘easy fix’ or ‘perfect rental’, I LOVE them! Old bathrooms with the aqua basins or the purple tiles around the bathtub just make me squeal in delight.

When I see particular properties with large backyards all I see is the potential. I envisage a big, walk through style vegetable patch and a swing set on one side and a big shed for Seb’s steam toys on the other. I love to be outside in the yard as much as possible and can’t wait to be able to really make a place our own and spend time outside as a family, in one house. What a relief that will be.

I feel confident that we have figured out what our priorities are for our family and for the lifestyle that we want to create for ourselves. That direction is clear to us both and bloody hell, it’s a great feeling, to have such a strong vision and to share that with your favourite person in the whole world. I’m a lucky gal, that’s for sure.

I am so grateful for this exciting journey in my life right now and who knows, it may take another twelve months before we find ‘the one’ and are ready to commit to a mortgage, but gosh darn it’s fun to be on the look out!

Peace and realestate.com.au 😉

E. xx

One thought on “the land I love

Leave a Reply

