For a picnic

Image

You can’t really go wrong with a good ANZAC cookie and they are even better when homemade (isn’t everything?).  Here is the vegan version I made last night when my sweet tooth took over my hands and made me whip up a batch. 

When I’m baking, I like to get out all of the ingredients first and have them in front of me. As I use them, I put them away. That way I know if I’ve missed a crucial ingredient if something is left out. Maybe that’s a little OCD but I like to clean as I cook so I don’t have a disaster waiting for me at the end.

Ready, Set, BAKE!

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup wholemeal plain flour

3/4 cup desiccated coconut

3/4 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup vegan margarine – I used regular Nuttelex

2 Tbs golden syrup

1tsp bicarb soda

1 Tbs boiling water.

Combine oats, flour, coconut and sugar in a large bowl.

in a small pan on the stove melt the margarine and golden syrup together.

In a separate (small) bowl combine bicarb and boiling water. Once you have done this, place the bicarb and water mix into the melted pot of loveliness. You will see the chemical reaction here and it will go all frothy. 

Now add the wet to the dry and mix well. Place rolled balls of mixture on to a lined baking tray and press down lightly on them with a fork.

And that’s it!

Bake for approximately 12 minutes. They will be a lovely golden brown colour.

I enjoy this version because it isn’t too sweet and goes perfectly with tea or coffee. If you want it a little sweeter just bump up the coconut to 1 cup. I also used wholemeal flour rather than white and brown instead of white sugar. These are adjustments I regularly make to recipes as OB usually eats my creations and if I can make them a little healthier, I will.

I’ll be making these for our next winter picnic. 

Peace and cookies.

E. x

2 thoughts on “For a picnic

Leave a Reply

