Simple Living // A workshop

I am officially a Simple Living Nerd. Wanna join the club?

Over the weekend I was fortunate enough to attend a Simple Living Workshop hosted by the inspirational Rhonda Hetzel. It was held in the beautiful Blue Mountains, where I live, so I felt extra lucky that I didn’t have to travel too far for such a special day.

IMG_7526 Rhonda and Me 2

Seb, Oli and I made a weekend out of it and journeyed up the mountain late Saturday afternoon as the fog started to creep in over the mountain. It was chilly, fresh and heart warming. Seb and I are both very fond of the upper mountains and plan to move there together in the foreseeable future, so we jump at any excuse to head up there.

An amazing restaurant sits just the other side of the mountain, in Hartley. They do the most amazing wood fired pizzas and have a gorgeous selection of drinks and gelato to finish. A booking was quickly made and we went straight there to fill our bellies.

Image

The rest of the evening was spent cuddled up in front of the fire, chatting and sipping wine. The rain began to fall heavily over night and it was lovely to wake up to the sound of the heavens falling on the tin roof, while still tucked up in a warm bed.

Sunday morning caught us at a cafe in Blackheath, sipping piping hot coffee and digging into big breakfasts. I wanted all the fuel possible for Rhonda’s workshop that began shortly after. I didn’t want to miss a second of it or any slice of advice.

I was one of 14 people of various ages and from all walks of life that took a seat in the Blackheath Community Hall to share and learn what ever we could about simple and sustainable living. It was a delight to meet this group of (mainly) ladies that all shared a passion for simple living. What was especially joyous was hearing the personal stories of others and, in turn, seeing the other attendees smile and nod in true understanding as the stories unfolded. There was such a diverse range of people and the stories were heartfelt and some were nothing short of amazing. The overriding message was that everyone there needed to live a simple, mindful life because nothing else satisfied them like that did. Everyone was decidedly more content and happy in their lives when they were living consciously and able to slow down a little and appreciate the simple, beautify everyday things that many people take for granted.

Image

We spent parts of the day participating in hands on sessions that were followed by hints, advice and anecdotes from those at the table. Some of the practical sessions included making laundry liquid from household ingredients (no nasty chemicals, thank you!), knitting or crochet and an amazing recipe and sample of a homemade curry/ spice mix. The whole room smelt heavenly after this demonstration and inspired me to make a curry that night.

The workshop went by so quickly and it was clear that we all had so much to learn and share on the topic. Every time someone shared a tip or anecdote, their eyes lit up with enthusiasm and their voices sang of the passion and excitement behind it. Someone even cried. It wasn’t me (for once) but darn it, I came close!

We felt like a small brigade in an underground battle against consumerism, advertising and mainstream living. In reality we were a group of average people in a community hall sharing ideas, but which ever way you look at it, we all left brimming with inspiration, conviction and confidence knowing that there are lots of other people out there that value the same things and who are making these simple changes, everyday.

Image

I am going to share as many of the tips and tricks as I can properly explain in a separate post with a more practical, less gushy, ‘help me fight the war on consumerism’ kind of way. I just had to do this post first to get all of some of it out.

I strongly recommend you head over to Rhonda’s blog to soak up her tips, tricks and honest writing about my favourite topic, simple living. She is a true inspiration.

Simply, peace.

E. x

9 thoughts on “Simple Living // A workshop

  1. Visiting from Rhonda’s blog. This slow living/ simple living movement is really moving. I think the most important thing for me is the fact that living this way is more fulfilling. I’ve never been so content in all my life. I love the image of an underground battle against consumerism, advertising and mainstream living.

  2. Hello from England! I am here via Down to Earth too. I love Rhonda’s book too, and am so envious you were able to go to her workshop, it sounds like you all had a wonderful time.

    I love your headwrap/headband, did you make it yourself?

    • Thanks for stopping by. We really did have a great time. 🙂 the gorgeous head wrap I was sporting was made by my very talented best friend, Ella. She is currently teaching me the basics, too which is very generous of her. E.

  3. I am visiting from Rhonda’s blog as well, also on the simpler living path. I am Nanna Ree to some and am thrilled when I come across someone a few decades younger who “get it”. Keep up the good work!

    • Hi Nanna Ree.
      Thanks for your words of encouragement. I feel lucky to have been able to start my simple living path quite young. Hopefully I will be able to share some of this with my little boy and continue appreciating the simple things for years to come. E 🙂

  4. Hi, another visitor from Rhonda’s blog. Hope to one day get to go to one of Rhonda’s workshops too. Woken to a frosty morning here.
    Cherish, East Gippsland Australia

  5. So glad the weekend went well, I was meant to go but wasn’t able to at the last minute. So upset! We are planning a move to the mountains soon too, just spent the weekend up there, so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

