Super-duper bean patties

Image

ImageImage

Thai style bean patties.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it on the blog yet but I’m a vegan. Here is a simple recipe I made up this evening to use up ingredients I had lying around the place (mostly in the kitchen area, though).

Put the following in a food processor then lightly fry. I’m all about technical kitchen skills. My only tips would be to adjust the consistency, either more or less mushy depending on the size of the zucchini. Just add a another 1/2 cup breadcrumbs if it’s too ‘liquidy’.

Also, cook them slowly. They stay together better and cook right the way through. This is ideal. It’s not as if you have to worry about any uncooked egg or meat, so it’s not a health hazard if they aren’t cooked all the way through, they’re just nicer that way.

1 large zucchini

I carrot

1 can five bean mix

3/4 cup wholemeal flour

1 tbs peanut butter

1 tbs curry paste of choice

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

This evening I chose to make my patty into a burger with avocado and beetroot. I will put it with salad to take for lunch tomorrow. What a versatile creation!

Oli is also a huge fan of these and they conceal a serve of veg very nicely in all the yummy flavours.

E.

Leave a Reply

